Enjoy The Now. (Who Does That?)

DSC00382

I moved to this scenic town over a year ago.  The kind of town people dream of retiring to.  The kind of town where artists thrive off of the natural, incredible beauty.  The kind of town that postcards are made of.  Tonight, after a cell phone fiasco at Safeway (never trust your nine year old daughter with your cell phone whilst at the self check-out), we stopped at the local “diner”, named “Nifty Fiftys” made to look like the diner out of “Happy Days” except the back patio juts out over the Puget Sound and tonight the weather and view were spectacular.  I sat there looking out at the sailboat anchored in the small cove and listened to the little waves splash up on the shore and marvled at how spectacular this really was.

I thought back to my days in San Francisco where any given day I would rise up on one of the many incredibly high streets and suddenly before me a view would appear of the Golden Gate Bridge and the bay, and it would seemingly always be a different view.  Living here I see those views every day, but somehow, they don’t seem as magical.  I wonder why all the time.  Is it because I was younger and such things were new and astonishing?  Have I become jaded to such beauty and wonder?  Nostalgia is a funny thing.  I’ve come to understand that we never appreciate our here and now.  We find misery no matter.  Later on, however, we miss everything about that time in our life.  That is where the saying comes from. “Live in the moment”.  Is that truly possible?  Or, are we meant to reflect in our current situation (look back at our past and long)?.   Are these our opportunities too grow via reflection?   The old adage, “You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone” is all to true.

So how do we relish our current moment?  How do we find the appreciation now and not five, ten years from now.  I sat there tonight looking out at the sailboats, watching the action of the sound, feeling the beauty of the warm summer Pacific Western late afternoon and thought to myself, “one day, I’ll look back on this moment and yearn”.  And so it is.  Looking out at the boats I felt sad.  I watched kids with their moms and dad playing on the beach below and wished that I had that.  I looked on at the boats and wished I was on one of them.  I wondered, and I found, that little bit of peace and serenity and bliss that is the now.

All we have is the now.  I have come to understand that nostalgia is something we can never foresee.  It just is.  If we make the best of each moment, it may not seem important at the time, but later…it will be the best time ever.

 

Leave a Reply

