Punishment For Working Out

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/punishment/What a perfect word prompt for the day.  I’m laying in bed feeling punished for working out as hard as I have been.  I have gained close to 30 pounds in the past year and taking it off has been way harder than I anticipated.  I turned 50 this year and moved myself and my nine year old daughter into my fathers home as he needs 24 hour care with his dementia.  For three months I have been spending and hour to an hour and a half four days a week killing it in the gym.  I’ve only lost four and a half pounds and have had three injuries.

The first injury was my knee.  I was playing racquetball and hit the floor when my knee gave out.  I spent a month strengthening it, not letting me quit.  Just as that was almost finished healing, I tore my rotator cuff on the assisted pull up machine.  My shoulder is still  healing and I’m about to start physical therapy and suddenly this groin injury sneaks up to punish me further.  I punish myself enough in the gym, these injuries are just cruel.  I’m laying in bed now, icing my shoulder AND my groin.

I’m still not going to let this stop me.  I am determined to lose this weight and get into the best shape I’ve ever been in.  Maybe this punishment is just a test to see what I can handle.  To test whether or not I have the gumption to not quit.  I will work through this.  This punishment will not defeat me.  I will heal, I will be amazing, nothing will stop me now!

3 thoughts on “Punishment For Working Out

  1. Christie- stay with it! You are already amazing for taking care of your father and your daughter AND for trying to take care of yourself! Be sure to nurse those injuries back into wellness and then keep on with your workouts and you’ll feel and look fabulous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

